Baked Oatmeal

DSC01397

This oatmeal is the only recipe you will ever need. I wish I could just tell you how good this oatmeal is. You just need to try it for yourself! When my sister-in-law came to visit I made this oatmeal. She tends to be on the pickier side and wanted the instant apples and cinnamon oatmeal. I told her this was way better and she should try it. Needless to say she loved it and my husband and little ones do too.

I have been making this oatmeal for a few years now. It is so delicious that you could call this oh-so-good oatmeal. This breakfast dish is wholesome even though it tastes like oatmeal “cake”. It is a staple in my house. I make it at least once a week and sometimes even twice.

DSC01389

 The wonderful thing about this oatmeal is it is versatile. You can pour milk all around it or eat it with a fork. You can add fresh or dried fruit to the top. My favorite topping is apple or peach. Also, I have a few variations of this oatmeal I will be sharing.

DSC01399

Baked Oatmeal

Note: This oatmeal can be doubled for a 9×13 pan if you have a larger family. Many times I find myself out of oil so I use apple juice instead and it works just as well.

Ingredients

3 cups of rolled oats ( quick or old fashioned )

1 cup of brown sugar

1/4 cup of applesauce

1/4 cup of oil

1 cup of milk

2 eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 8×8 square pan.

2 Mix all the dry ingredients together. In a separate bowl mix the wet ingredients together. Add the wet  ingredients to the dry. Pour into greased pan.

3. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

Recipe source: adapted from Fix it and Enjoy It

Leave a Reply

