Broccoli Cheese Soup

DSC01404

When I starting cooking with no processed foods veelveta was one of the first things to go. You won’t miss it in this soup. This soup is thick, creamy, cheesy and the absoulute best!  Also, it is easy to make ( which is always a plus for us busy wives and moms ).

I have made this soup many times and it is perfect for those cold winter nights. It truly is comfort food. My family ate it up and I believe yours will too! I think that the swiss cheese is the secret ingredient that makes it just perfect.

The Best Broccoli Cheese Soup

 Note: If you want this soup to be even creamier you can substitute some of the milk for half and half ( nonfat of course ), but I promise it is wonderful with just the milk. I usually use just frozen broccoli and steam it unless fresh broccoli is in season and on sale.

Ingredients

1 3/4 cups of chicken broth

1 onion, diced

1/3 cup of flour ( I use wheat and it was fine )

1/4 cup of butter

1/2 teaspoon of salt

1/2 teaspoon of pepper

2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 cup of shredded swiss cheese

2 1/2 to 3 cups of lightly steamed and chopped broccoli

Directions

1. Simmer chicken broth and the onions in a small saucepan until onions are soft about 15 to 20 minutes.

2. Heat milk in the microwave for 1 to 2 minutes.

3. In a separate medium size saucepan melt butter and then add flour, salt, and pepper. Cook together stirring constantly for 2 minutes and the slowly whisk in warmed milk. Sir until the soup starts to thicken about 5 to 8 mInutes.

4. Add warmed chicken broth and stir until blended. Add the cheeses a handful at a time and stir until melted. Lastly, add broccoli. At this point I usually use an immersion blender and blend until broccoli is chopped even more, but you can definitely leave this chunky. Add salt and pepper to taste and serve immediately.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Susanna says:

    I’m definitely going to have to try this!

    Like

    1. faesbakery says:

      I believe you will love it! Please let me know what you think when you do make it.

      Like

  2. Nana says:

    Me too and servrd in a bread bowl:). How many servings does this recipe make?

    Like

    1. faesbakery says:

      This makes four servings. I am still working on perfecting a bread bowl recipe. I will share when I fiqure it out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

