Third Step to Whole Foods- Whole Grain

I know it has been a long time since I have shared with you another step I took in my whole food journey. Partly it is because this is a huge step. It may seem overwhelming but your taste buds will transition and you will end up enjoying it more than you thought. What is it? Switch to all whole grains! No more white bread and pasta. Use all whole wheat. Whole wheat bread, whole wheat pasta, brown rice, and whole wheat tortillas.

I had no trouble switching. I went all whole grain immediaely and had no problems. I know that not everyone is like that. It took a more gradual approach with my husband. Start small and keep increasing as your taste buds adapt.

Here are some steps to take.

1. Whole wheat pizza dough and waffles. You really won’t notice the change of taste at all since you put stuff on top of both of these.

2. Pasta. Try half wheat and half white and gradually add in more wheat taking away the white. Just take baby steps.

3. Rice. Use brown rice. I have a great recipe that makes fluffy brown rice so you won’t miss the white at all.

4 Bread. Use whole wheat bread. I suggest making your own so you know exactly what is in it. If you do but at the store make sure it does not say enriched wheat flour. That is truly not wheat at all

5. Recipes start with 1/2 cup of wheat flour and then increase to a cup. Keep increasing and in no time you will be using all wheat.  As your taste buds adapt use my recipes that I have made to be all whole wheat with out it being dry, dense, and tough ( it does take some tweaking ). Before you know it even your cookies, brownies, cake, and biscuts will be healthy too!

Leave a Reply

