Third Step to Whole Foods

I know it has been a really long time since I have told you a step I have taken in cutting out processed foods and eating healthy. This step I believe is one of the most important steps and has helped me the most. It is simply to eat raw fruits and vegetables.

Every meal make an effort to eat and serve your family fresh fruits and vegetables. Breakfast serve some fresh oranges with the eggs or pancakes, or eat a side of fresh berries with yogurt. You really can use any kind of fruit. For lunch cut up some apples and bannanas, or make a green smoothie ( this is one of our favorites ), or have some carrots and red peppers with hummus. For dinner, one of the simplest ways to serve a raw vegetable is to make a simple side salad to go with your main dish. We also, will have a veggie tray with ranch when we eat pizza. It may seem overwhelming at first, but it really is not hard once you start.

I know this simple step has helped me a lot to enjoy the real taste of foods and not always need to drown my salad in ranch or have apples with a dip, but to just enjoy it in its true natural state. Even my family has transitioned well.

 

Here is an example of a master shopping list of fresh fruits and veggies that I always have in my kitchen.

Fresh Fruits

Apples

Bananas

Grapes

Oranges or grapefruits

Strawberries

Raspberries, blackberries, or blueberries

Fresh Vegetables

Romaine lettuce

Spinach

Carrots

Green peppers

Red peppers or mini sweet peppers

Cucumbers

Tomatoes

Broccoli

Frozen Vegetables

Eating frozen vegetables is just as good for you. I always have these on hand to make a quick and delish side dish because they are not always in season

Broccoli

Peas

Green beans

Frozen Fruit

Now, eating frozen fruit is just as good for you as fresh so I like to have these as well stocked up for smoothies or baking

Frozen stawberries

Frozen mango

Frozen blueberries

 

 

This is just an example of what I do. I always have the frozen fruit and fresh vegetables, but the other fruit varies on what is in season and on sale. I love to try new vegetables and ways to cook them and to eat different types of fruits with my meal. I believe that you will too it will just take time to train your taste buds to enjoy the food in its natural state. I have so many side dish recipes I want to share with you so I hope that you keep checking in and following this blog.

 

I hope this helps you to be more conscious of what you shop for when you are at the store to always try to eat fresh vegetables and fruit. It always helps me when I pile my plate with some delicious veggies so that the heavier main course you indulge in ( like pizza and lasagna) won’t over run your plate. So fill up on those fruits and veggies and you will see a difference in how you look and feel. It really does matter what you put on your plate!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

