Strawberry Honey Jam

Spring is the perfect season for strawberries! This strawberry jam that is naturally sweetned is delicious.

20160504_080712~2

Strawberry jam is something I always have in my pantry. So, why not make it myself when the strawberries are big and juicy and sweeten it with honey? I have decided that I want to have a homemade pantry free of processed foods and filled with snacks, cans and treats that are  good for you.  It truly saves money too! This strawberry jam is a great way to start!

20160504_080512~2

 I  have started to really enjoy canning. It is not hard at all just takes time. I like to can in the afternoon when my little ones are resting. I am sure you could find a block of time to try it for yourself. This project is small enough for a beginner, but feel free to do more if you get a great price on strawberries and you want to stock up! 

This jam is truly a great addition to any biscut, cream scone or just your normal peanut butter and jelly sandwich..

Strawberry Honey Jam

( If you don’t want to can just put these in small freezer safe containers and make this into strawberry freezer jam!)

Ingredients

6 cups of fresh strawberries, hulled and halved

2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1 1/2 cups of honey

2 boxes of powdered fruit pectin

Directions

1. If you are canning make sure you get all your canning stuff ready and sterilized.

2. Meanwhile combine the strawberries in a large pot and mash with a potato masher. Add pectin. Bring the mixture to a boil. Boil for 1 minute.

3. Remove from heat and stir in honey. Mix well. Bring back to a boil and boil for 10 to 12 minutes. This longer boiling time will help the jam set up since using honey. Stir frequently so it does not scorch. Remove from heat and let stand for a couple of minutes. Skim off foam. Put in desired storage containers.

4. If you are going to can it needs to be processed for 10 minutes. Remove from the canner and let cool for 24 hours to make sure the can pop to seal.

 

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kathy says:

    In the strawberry jam recipe is it really 14 T of pectin?

    Like

    1. faesbakery says:

      No I will change that it is 7! My mistake

      Like

    2. faesbakery says:

      It is actually 12 I will have to fix that. It is alot! You can also use two boxes of powdered pectin.

      Like

Leave a comment