Homemade Cream of Chicken Soup

So, last week I had a post all ready to go with a beautiful picture and everything, but I did not post it! That is because it was a good recipe but not perfect. I wanted to perfect it some more and actually have my family love it and not just like it. That is why you have not heard from me in a while.

20160919_1727352

I am still perfecting that recipe. I promise it is gonna be a good one! The recipe I am sharing with you today is a basic recipe you can use in place of the canned cream of chicken soup. This stuff is good. I have tried it in several recipes and it works great! It is delicious. You will want to use this for that recipe you have been wanting to make but can’t seem to get yourself to buy the processed canned soup or even just as a gravy over your chicken. It is just easy and good.

I will share with you a recipe later on that I love to make with this stuff,but until then why don’t you go ahead and try it in one of your favorite recipes.

Cream of Chicken Soup

Note:  You can store these in an airtight containers for 3 to 4 days in fridge or freeze and defrost slowly in a saucepan when reheating. I have doubled and tripled this batch and it works great.

Ingredients

3 tablespoons butter

1 small shallot, diced or 1/4 cup red onion

1 clove garlic, minced

2 1/2 tablespoons flour

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup milk

pinch of salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. In a large skillet over medium heat melt the butter and then add onion and garlic, stir and saute for 5 minutes or until onion starts to soften.
  2. Sprinklein the flour and cook for 1 to 2 minutes until golden. While whisking pour in the chicken broth and milk and whisk until smooth. Simmer until thick and season with salt and pepper.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. aunt Vicki (jeff moore) says:

    Sounds good, but I’m surprised there isn’t any chicken meat, only chicken stock.

    Like

    1. faesbakery says:

      I know the Campbell’s condensed soup has it, but I personally do not like it, but feel free to add a bit and saute it with the onions.

      Like

Leave a Reply

